We will no longer be supporting IE7 and below as a web browser effective June 1st 2020. Click here for more information.

Sign In

Town of Wasaga Beach

Skip Navigation LinksTown of Wasaga Beach > Accessibility Advisory Committee

Accessibility Advisory Committee​

The Wasaga Beach Accessibility Advisory Committee was created in April 2003, under the then Ontarians with Disabilities Act (ODA). The role of the Committee is to advise Council on accessibility issues regarding municipally owned property, develop a plan to address accessibility issues and to review site plans to ensure that accessible public access is maintained.

In 2005 a new act was proclaimed by the Provincial Government, The Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA). This law is designed to make Ontario fully accessible within the next 20 years. Standards are being developed for both the public and private sectors and will address the full range of disabilities. The standards will have mandatory changes, deadlines and a means of Enforcement. This bulletin is intended to educate you on the requirements on the new Act. 


The Wasaga Beach Accessibility Advisory Committee is an advisory body to advise and assist
the Municipality in promoting, developing and facilitating a barrier-free community with a goal to
improve the quality of life for those with disabilities. The AAC shall promote accessibility within the
community to increase education and awareness. This aim shall be achieved through the review
of municipal policies, programs and services and identification, removal and prevention of barriers
faced by persons with disabilities.

The AAC’s mandate also includes the development of the Annual Accessibility Plan to address
the identification, removal and prevention of barriers to persons with disabilities. 


The Accessibility Committee will be composed of up to nine (9) persons who will be composed as

  • Five (5) members who are persons with disabilities as defined in the Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2001

  • One (1) member of Council

  • Two (2) members who are citizen volunteers who resides and/or owns property within the municipality

  • One (1) member who is a professional from the stakeholder community

Clerk - Resource/contact

Members serve a four year term to coincide with the term of Council and/or until a successor is appointed.


  • John Robbins                                                 
  • Jennifer Bienick

  •  Michelle Heyduk (Alternate)

  • Fred Heyduk

  • Alvin Davidson

  • Kathy Loosemore

  • Bruce Galbraith

  • Vic DeFrancesco

  • Kevin Stevenson

  • Councillor M. Kinney                                     

Proposed Meeting Schedule 

At the call of the Chair


$60 for the Chair per meeting
$50 for members per meeting